Taxpayer Coalition Thanks You for Your Support of Sugar Reform | Council For Citizens Against Government Waste

Taxpayer Coalition Thanks You for Your Support of Sugar Reform

August 7, 2018

U.S. House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Representative,

On behalf of the undersigned organizations and our millions of members across the country, we thank you for supporting H.R. 4265, the Sugar Policy Modernization Act of 2017 and pushing for necessary and substantive reform of the sugar program.

The 80-year-old U.S. sugar program continues to be one of the most outdated and costly command-and-control systems to date. By providing market-oriented reforms that would bring American sugar policy into the twenty-first century, H.R. 4265 sought to save consumers $2.4-$4 billion annually and put an end to a scheme that has destroyed 123,000 jobs between 1997 and 2015.

The undersigned taxpayer watchdog and consumer protection groups are committed to continuing this fight in search of a fair sugar policy that currently only benefits a handful of sugar mega-processors.  We genuinely appreciate your support and look forward to continuing to work with you to lift this tremendous burden off the shoulders of taxpayers and consumers alike.


Tom Schatz, President, Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

Adam Brandon, President, FreedomWorks

Grover Norquist, President, Americans for Tax Reform

Nan Swift, Director of Federal Affairs, National Taxpayers Union

Heather R. Higgins, President and CEO, Independent Women's Voice

Caroline Kitchens, Federal Affairs Manager, R Street Institute

Phil Kerpen, President, American Commitment

Jeffrey Mazzella, President, Center for Individual Freedom

David Williams, President, Taxpayers Protection Alliance

Dee Stewart, President, Center for Innovation and Free Enterprise

Olivia Grady, Senior Fellow, Center for Worker Freedom

Brent Wm. Gardner, Chief Government Affairs Officer, Americans for Prosperity

Ryan Alexander, President, Taxpayers for Common Sense

Sara Croom, Executive Director, Trade Alliance to Promote Prosperity

Tim Chapman, Executive Director, Heritage Action

Andrew F. Quinlan, President, Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Lisa B. Nelson, CEO, ALEC Action

Paul J. Gessing, President, Rio Grande Foundation

Karen Kerrigan, President & CEO, Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council

Tim Huelskamp, PH.D, President, The Heartland Institute

Mark Bucher, CEO, California Policy Center

Nathan Nascimento, Executive Vice President, Freedom Partners Chamber of Commerce

Yaël Ossowski, Deputy Director, Consumer Choice Center

Click for PDF

Issues Topics: 
Coalition Letters

Tired of the Government wasting your Tax Dollars? Take Action Here! (800) BE-ANGRY

CAGW Names Rep. Peter DeFazio January 2019 Porker of the Month

Rep. DeFazio is CAGW's Porker of the Month for for making irresponsible comments in support of pork-barrel earmarks.