CCAGW Vote Alert: Amendments to H.R. 2500, the FY 2020 NDAA | Council For Citizens Against Government Waste

CCAGW Vote Alert: Amendments to H.R. 2500, the FY 2020 NDAA

July 10, 2019

U.S. House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Representative,

You will soon consider H.R. 2500, the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) for Fiscal Year (FY) 2020. On behalf of the more than one million members and supporters of the Council for Citizens Against Government Waste (CCAGW), I urge you to support the following amendments to H.R. 2500:

Rep. Jared Huffman’s (D-Calif.) amendment to amend Section 2831 to restrict importation of any energy sourced from Russia and to repeal another Section from the FY19 NDAA, dealing with preference for domestic sources at one specific European base.

Reps. Jim Banks (R-Ind.), Phil Roe (R-Tenn.), Gus Bilirakis (R-Fla.), Amata Coleman Radewagen (R-American Samoa), Steve Watkins (R-Kan.), Michael Bost (R-Ill.), Andy Barr (R-Ky.), Dan Meuser (R-Pa.), Susie Lee (D-Nev.), Conor Lamb (D-Pa.), Julia Brownley (D-Calif.), Elaine Luria (D-Va.), Colin Allred (D-Texas), Chris Pappas (D-N.H.), Gil Cisneros (D-Calif.), Chip Roy (R-Texas), Mark Takano (D-Calif.), Jack Bergman (R-Mich.), Mike Levin (D-Calif.), Max Rose (D-N.Y.), Neal Dunn (R-Fla.), and Gregorio Sablan’s (I-Northern Mariana Islands) amendment to require the DOD, Coast Guard, and the Department of Veterans Affairs to develop jointly a comprehensive enterprise interoperability strategy, 180 days after enactment, to achieve nine goals, principally interoperability sufficient for seamless health care with TRICARE providers and community care providers under the MISSION Act.

Reps. Paul Gosar (R-Ariz.), Mark Amodei (R-Nev.), Jody Hice (R-Ga.), Pete Stauber (R-Minn.), Scott Tipton (R-Colo.), Vicky Hartzler (R-Mo.), Rob Bishop’s (R-Utah) amendment to ensure that the United States will eliminate its dependency on rare earth materials from China by FY 2035.

Reps. Elaine Luria (D-Va.) and Ro Khanna’s (D-Hawaii) amendment to direct the DOD to conduct a study on how it could enter into more energy savings performance contracts (ESPCs).

Reps. Conor Lamb (D-Pa.), Mark Takano (D-Calif.), Susie Lee (D-Nev.), Julia Brownley (D-Calif.), Elaine Luria (D-Va.), Colin Allred (D-Texas), Chris Pappas (D-N.H.), Gil Cisneros (D-Calif.), Gregorio Sablan (I-Northern Mariana Islands), Mike Levin (D-Calif.), Jim Banks (R-Ind.), Phil Roe (R-Tenn.), Gus Bilirakis (R-Fla.), Amata Coleman Radewagen (R-American Samoa), Steve Watkins (R-Kan.), Michael Bost (R-Ill.), Andy Barr (R-Ky.), Dan Meuser (R-Pa.), Max Rose (D-N.Y.), and Katie Porter’s (D-Calif.) amendment to require the Interagency Program Office of the DOD and the Department of Veterans Affairs to demonstrate that it has achieved interoperability in the implementation of electronic health records. Requires the Office to manage the configuration of electronic health records, consult with clinicians, and survey clinicians and patients.

Rep. Mark Meadow’s (R-N.C.) amendment to make delinquent or unpaid federal taxes one of the data points federal contractors are required to disclose, and periodically update in the Federal Awardee Performance and Integrity Information System.

Rep. Mark Meadow’s (R-N.C.) amendment to authorize the service acquisition executive of the relevant military department, in administering software acquisition pathways, to delegate responsibilities under Sec.801(d) to a program executive officer (or equivalent) to facilitate more rapid acquisition of software applications and software upgrades.

Furthermore, I urge you to oppose the following amendments:

Reps. Anthony Brindisi (D-N.Y.) and David McKinley’s (R-W.Va.) amendment to reinstate the Berry Amendment’s DOD domestic sourcing requirement for stainless steel flatware, also adding a “dinner ware” domestic sourcing requirement. Provides for a one year phase-in period.

Reps. Gerry Connolly (D-Va.), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-D.C.), and Don Beyer’s (D-Va.) amendment to prohibit the elimination of the Office of Personnel Management.

Rep. Brian Higgins’ (D-N.Y.) amendment to authorize the Secretary of Defense to contribute up to $5 million to the National Maritime Heritage Grant Program, a program that would fund education projects and the preservation of historic maritime resources.

Reps. Marcy Kaptur (D-Ohio) and Don Young’s (R-Alaska) amendment to expand DOD’s authority to operate the youth civil-military STEM program, STARBASE, and to allow participation and collaboration with the Coast Guard.

Rep. Doug LaMalfa’s (R-Calif.) amendment to prohibit funds from being used by the U.S. Air Force for removal of the Over-the-Horizon-Backscatter Radar (OTHB) station located in Modoc County, California.

Rep. Darren Soto’s (R-Fla.) amendment to increase funding for the manufacturing science and technology program by $5 million for anti-tamper heterogeneous integrated microelectronics.  Reduces funding for Army procurement by the same amount.

Reps. Paul Tonko (D-N.Y.), Joseph Morelle (D-N.Y.), Antonio Delgado (D-N.Y.), and Brian Higgins (D-N.Y.) amendment to increase by $2 million the funding limitation for the Erie Canalway National Heritage Corridor.

All votes on H.R. 2500 will be among those considered in CCAGW’s 2019 Congressional Ratings.


Tom Schatz
President, CCAGW

Click for PDF

Issues Topics: 
CCAGW Letters

Tired of the Government wasting your Tax Dollars? Take Action Here! (800) BE-ANGRY

CAGW Names Rep. John Carter August 2019 Porker of the Month

Rep. Carter is CAGW's Porker of the Month for voting for the Bipartisan Budget Act of 2019, which saddles taxpayers with more spending and debt.